Denny Morrison Website

all about Canadian speed skater Denny Morrison


Draw pits Morrison against Marsicano, Makowsky faces Dobbin

Posted on February 13, 2010 at 7:24 PM

Picture by Getty Images

By Danny Celia, Posted Friday, February 12, 2010 6:05 PM ET

Canada's representatives in the Men's 5,000-meters long track speed skating, Denny Morrison and Lucas Makowsky, faired well in Friday's draw, while heavily favoured Dutchman Sven Kramer will have his work cut out for him when action from the Richmond Oval kicks off on Saturday.


Morrison will face American Trevor Marsicano while Makowsky will race New Zealand's Shane Dobbin.


Morrison comes into these Games among Canada's best male podium hopefuls. A specialist in the 1,000-meters and 1,500-meters, the Fort St. John, B.C. native was one of the stars of the speed skating world during the 2007-08 season. He captured 11 medals on the World Cup circuit and becoming the world champ over 1,500-meters, following that up with a silver medal in the 1,000-meters and a bronze in the 1,500-meters at the 2009 world championship.


Marsicano is competing in his first Olympics and is coming off a season that saw him win four medals during the World Championships in March, claiming gold, silver and two bronze medals at the Richmond Oval.


Regina's Makowsky is the youngest speed skater on the Canadian team. The 22-year old rookie is a silver medalist in the 1,500-meters at the World Cup circuit this season. His competition, Dobbin, is a four-time world champion inline skater who switched to ice two years ago. He qualified for the Olympics in the 5km event at the World Cup in Salt Lake City in December where he set a new national record and finishing 11th.


American Shani Davis will race Dutch standout Sven Kramer in the opening draw. Kramer, the world record-holder, is a three-time reigning world champion at 5,000-meters and 10,000-meters as well as with the Dutch squad in team pursuit. He also took the 5,000-meters silver at the 2006 Turin Games.

Start list for the Men's 5,000-meter race.

1. Lehmann (Germany) - Schneider (Switzerland)

2. Morrison (Canada) - Marsicano (United States)

3. Chmura (Poland) - Roemjantsev (Russia)

4. Beckert (Germany) - Stefani (Italy)

5. Dejima (Japan) - Silovs (Latvia)

6. Haugli (Norway) - Babenko (Kazakhstan)

7. Rojler (Sweden) - Blokhuijsen (Netherlands)

8. Makowsky (Canada) - Dobbin (New Zealand)

9. Hirako (Japan) - Weber (Germany)

10. Contin (France) - Christiansen (Norway)

11. Kramer (Netherlands) - Davis (United States)

12. Seung-Hoon Lee (Korea) - De Jong (Netherlands)

13. Skobrev (Russia) - Fabris (Italy)

14. Bokko (Norway) - Hedrick (United States)


Categories: In the Spotlight, 2010 Vancouver Olympics

Post a Comment


Oops, you forgot something.


The words you entered did not match the given text. Please try again.

You must be a member to comment on this page. Sign In or Register


Denny_Morrison Twitter

Follow DennyMdotcom on Twitter

Webs Counter